Adani, Tata, GMR among 43 firms to show interest in CSMT redevelopment project: Railways

Aastha Shah Sep 28, 2020 0

Tata Projects, Adani Group, Larsen & Toubro, and GMR Group were among 43 prospective bidders who attended a pre-bid meeting on Friday for the redevelopment of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT) of the railways in Mumbai, a UNESCO World Heritage site.

According to a railway ministry statement, the Rs 1,642-crore redevelopment project encapsulates the integration of various modes to make the iconic railway station a multi-modal transport hub.

The total real estate built-up area is 25 lakh square feet and the construction period is of four years, it said. The cost of the real estate around is Rs 1,433 crore.

The Niti Aayog CEO and the Railway Board chairman and CEO chaired the pre-bid meeting via a digital platform. The meeting was attended by representatives of 43 prospective bidders, including Adani Group, Tata Projects Ltd, Eldeco, GMR Group, JKB Infrastructure Pvt Ltd, SNCF Hubs and Connexions, I Squared Capital, Kalpataru Power Transmission Ltd, Ace
Urban developers, GR Infrastructure, Essel Group, and Larsen & Toubro.

During the pre-bid meeting, it was highlighted that at the RFQ stage the applicants would need to fulfill only the financial criteria, and the technical eligibility criteria have been dispensed with.

The meeting was also attended by architects (namely BDP Singapore, Hafeez Contractor, AECOM), fund houses (namely
Anchorage Infrastructure Investment Holdings Ltd., Brookfield), consultancy firms (namely JLL, Boston Consultancy Group, KPMG, PwC India, EY, and embassies namely the British High Commission.

Invest India, set up by DPIIT which is the national investment promotion and facilitation agency that helps investors looking for investment opportunities and options in India also attended the meet.

The Request for Qualification (RFQ) for the redevelopment of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus on public-private partnership (PPP) the mode has been invited by the Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Limited (IRSDC).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *